Bulletin – April 9, 2022 | Hometown


National winner

Six North Dakota students have received national awards as part of the 2022 Scholastic Art and Writing Awards, the nation’s longest-running program for youth in grades 7-12.

A medal recipient from the region is Data from Olivia, Bismarck, money in poetry.

The national awards ceremony is scheduled for June 9 at Carnegie Hall in New York.

Mandan FBLA Winners

Members of the Mandan High School Future Business Leaders of America chapter won awards at the 55th Annual FBLA State Leadership Conference March 27-29.

In addition to competitive events, students had the opportunity to attend workshops, elect the 2022-23 state officers, and network with members from across the state.

MHS winners in various categories were Nick Allen10th, introduction to business concepts; Samantha Shepherdthird, spreadsheets; Kendal Blairfirst, accounting II and second, entrepreneurship; Colton Eglifirst, business ethics and second, agribusiness; Bridger Ellsecond, international trade and third, supply chain management; Shaydin Ellfirst, business ethics; Trudy Francksecond, introduction to social media strategy; Braden Fricklinsecond, introduction to business concepts and impromptu speaking; Kelbi Pritchett, third, community service project; fourth, introduction to business presentation and seventh, introduction to business communications; Ashley Steelersecond, entrepreneurship and third, community service project; Kayna Tranfirstly, Introduction to Financial Mathematics and fifthly, Accounting II; Alison Unrathsecond, introduction to social media strategy; Harper Wilkensfourth, introduction to business presentation.

People also read…

Place for DECA students

Eight DECA students from Bismarck High School have placed at the 2022 National Career Development Conference and qualified for the national conference to be held April 23-26 in Atlanta, Georgia.

Students understand Aria Dahl and Andra Pfisterfirst place in the decision-making of the marketing management team; Samuel Temgouafirst place, financial literacy project management; John Sackmanthird place, personal finance literacy; Will Pollertthird place, corporate finance and state stock game; Therese Horningplacement scholarship, entrepreneurship; Jack Schaffer, placement prizes, sports and entertainment marketing role-playing event; and Irlynd Bartholomayplacement prizes, marketing communications.

The BHS Chapter was also recognized with the 30% Membership Increase Award; community service award; and the Thrive Chapter Promotional Campaign Award for the fourth consecutive year.

Duck stamp winners

The North Dakota Junior Duck Stamp program is a science and arts program open to all students in kindergarten through 12th grade. Artwork is judged in four separate age categories and this year 689 students participated.

Area winners include first place in Group 1 (Class K-3), Noah Schanandore and Kallin Kemmis, Bismark; first-Group 2 (class 4-6), Gabriel Colman, Baudouin; second-Group 2 (class 4-6), Levi brotherBismark and William Little, Moffit; third group 1 (class K-3), isaac wanglerBismark and Caleb Coleman, Baudouin; third-Group 2 (class 4-6), Abby brotherBismark and Kenley Dollmandan.

Honorable mention winners in each of the four age groups include group 1 (K-grade 3), Luke Goettle, Catherine Eberle, Mya MillerBismarck and Adalyn Rump, Glen Ullin; Group 2 (class 4-6), Jackson Moch and Kylie Leier, Manda; Group 3 (from 7th to 9th grade), ethan brotherBismark.

An awards ceremony will be held May 4 at the North Dakota Heritage Center and Museum in Bismarck for all first, second and third place winners and their families. See the winning works on www.facebook.com/NDJuniorDuckStamp.

The “report card” highlights the achievements of Burleigh and Morton County students in high school. Please send your comments to news@bismarcktribune.com before Wednesday noon.


Comments are closed.